The Armidale Symphony Orchestra is a community orchestra that began as the Armidale Municipal Orchestra established in 1943. It presently gives approximately three concerts each year.


President: Stuart Pavel
Phone:02 6772 1628

Vice-President: Robert Jackson

Secretary: Jane Pickard

Treasurer: David Rowe

Librarian: Colin Sholl

Armidale Symphony Orchestra
Armidale Symphony Orchestra

Kerry Hawkins Award

Kerry Hawkins was a committed member of the Armidale Symphony Orchestra for 35 years until her untimely death in 2012. Initially a violinist, Kerry took up the French horn in the 1970s and became an accomplished player of that instrument. Her passion for the horn led her to be a mentor for many younger players whom she inspired with her skill and love of music. Kerry also served on the orchestra committee for many years as an efficient and dedicated librarian. The award is in recognition of Kerry’s lifetime of dedicated service to the Armidale Symphony Orchestra.

The Kerry Hawkins Award is made annually to a playing member of the orchestra who shows outstanding
commitment and dedication throughout the year.


2012   Maurice Anker
2013   Colin Sholl
2014   Chris Cunningham
2015    Jacqui Thompson and Alana Blackburn
2016    Dave Brown

For more information visit Armidale Symphony Orchestra website