Armidale’s 1st Composition Eisteddfod

Andrew Dhama 1st prize winner and 2nd prize duo composers Alexis Stahlhut and Aliyah Snape from St Mary’s School.

Armidale Eisteddfod’s only section to go ahead this year was the Composition Eisteddfod due to its conversion to a Zoom on-line presentation facilitated by NECOM Program Manager Corinne Arter and AMTA (Armidale Music Teachers Association). Composer-adjudicator Holly Harrison presented a composition workshop and awards via Zoom on Wednesday 10 July. Fifty five composers from Armidale, Tamworth and Sydney entered and winners received a cheque and a unique framed music score by Australia composers provided by Deidre Rickards OAM – awards were hand delivered or mailed via Australia Post so on-line can only go so far!

To read the full report by Deidre Rickards OAM please click here.

The youngest winner of the K-Yr 6 section was Andrew Dharma from Sydney and his mother Clare Dharma wrote ‘The Zoom presentation was fabulous! Andrew was very much encouraged by the outcome and a BIG thank you to NECOM and the committee for organising this unique eisteddfod as it doesn’t happen here in Sydney. May I encourage you to continue keeping your good work in nurturing our young Australian composers in the future.’ The logistics behind the conversion to the on-line Composition Eisteddfod were challenging and thank you to Corinne and AMTA for their determination and commitment to ensure that it went ahead this year. Our sincere congratulations to the prize winners:

K-6 – Andrew Dharma (Sydney)
Yr 7/8 – Tiko Lay (PLC)
Yr 9 – Emily Buntine (TAS)
Yr 10 – Emma Dauparas (PLC)
Yr 11 (Course 1) – Hannah Neilson (TAS)
Yr 11 (Course 2) – Alexander Gibson (TAS)
Yr 12 (Course 1) – Hattie Oaks (TAS)
Yr 12 (Course 2) – Luka Ison (Calrossy)
Open – Matthew Minter (PLC)